Magazine Cover Project

Whenever I have the option to be creative in assignments, I always take the opportunity to be ridiculous. I made up a magazine called Undersea Adventures. I used a standard font to write the logo, and then used to skew tool to give it a bit of an angle. This tends to generate some dynamism by creating a bit of a diagonal to any work. I also turned the R of Undersea into something resembling a tentacle. I found a guy I liked to be the hero image of the cover, but the background he was in would not work, so I found another image to use as the background. I liked the way he was presenting that bizarre creature, so I tried to create a strong sense of layering to give the cover some 3D effects.Image

About Brandon Smith

My name is Brandon Smith. I'm a full time graphic designer working with a non-profit organization in Houston Texas. I am also a student at Arizona State University through their online division. I am majoring in Graphic Information Technology. From an early age, I've always been possessed by a desire to create. Whether it's pencil and paper, photography, digital art, video or design, I feel the need to put things out into the world that reflect my values and beliefs. When I graduate, I would like to continue my career in design and graphic commercial art. When I'm not in front of a computer, I like to play bass guitar, read, and write.

Leave a comment